No City Election in Watkinsville This Year

The qualifying period for three council posts wrapped up last week and there are no contested races.

The City of Watkinsville will have one new council member next year.  Mike Huff was the lone for Post 4 last week.

Huff, office manager for , will replace outgoing councilwoman Samantha Purcell, who told she plans to pursue a Specialist degree in leadership education.

Also last week, current councilmen Mike Link (Post 5 - mayor pro tempore) and Toby Smith (Post 3) qualified for re-election and are unopposed.

Link has served for more than two decades. Smith first joined the council in January 2010.  He was the only candidate to qualify for Joe Walter's vacant seat when Walter replaced Jim Luken as mayor, according to an article in the Athens Banner-Herald.

Since all three races are uncontested, no election will be held this year, city clerk Julie Sanders explained.

Councilmen Brian Brodrick (Post 1) and Henry Norman (Post 3) ran unopposed for re-election in 2011, the same year mayor to replace .

Don’t miss any Oconee news. Subscribe to Oconee Patch’s free newsletter, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »