Burn Ban in Place for Oconee and 53 Other Georgia Counties

The Georgia Department of Natural Resources bans outdoor burning from May 1 to September 30 to to comply with Federal Clean Air Regulations.


Beginning today, no outdoor burning will be permitted in Oconee throughout the rest of spring, summer and early fall.

The ban, which falls under the jurisdiction of the Georgia Department of Natural Resources, Environmental Protection Division, Air Protection Branch, is in place to be in compliance with Federal Clean Air Regulations.

The following counties are included with Oconee in the ban:

Banks, Barrow, Bartow, Bibb, Butts, Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clarke, Clayton, Cobb, Columbia, Coweta, Crawford, Dawson, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Floyd, Forsyth, Fulton, Gordon, Gwinnett, Hall, Haralson, Heard, Henry, Houston, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Lamar, Lumpkin, Madison, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Paulding, Peach, Pickens, Pike, Polk, Putnam, Richmond, Rockdale, Spalding, Troup, Twiggs, Upson, Walker and Walton.

The ban will be lifted on October 1, 2012.


Does the outdoor burning ban affect you?  Tell us how in the comments below.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something